April Thrifting | Part 2 of 2

Part 2 of the recent local and vintage shopping we’ve done in search of unique home decor. As stated in my first post about vintage and thrift shopping for home decor, my ability to actually purchase anything to bring home is limited by object size and my means of travelling. So, typically I am limited to smaller items. Even when I am home, we have two smaller cars and thus have a hard time picking up larger items. We have certainly missed our fair shair of awesome finds due to not having transportation. We have awesome friends and family who have helped us out with items here and there – but no one wants to wear out their welcome with friends and family.

Because of this, we tend to mainly focus on smaller items: statuettes, vases, books, flatware, glasses, side tables, nightstands, chairs, etc. with the occasional dresser or sideboard thrown in when we find a must-have piece and have a friend or family member around to help. So, while we will eventually cover some of our bigger finds, this post again covers smaller items.

First up today is one of my favorite finds in awhile. I ran across two different legitimate Saarinen tulip tables. These were not thrift-store finds but rather someone on craigslist who knew what they had but was still offering them for a very reasonable price considering. Great condition and true Italian marble tops; I wanted both, and even though they were a fantastic price, really only could justify one of them. I’ll show you pictures of the two I had to choose from:

SaarinenSaarinen

The decision was a tough one. The one on the left had a very crisp, clean look with a more consistent veining. It was much in line with what I would expect myself to choose. The second one on the right was much bolder, with very graphic veining and varying natural coloration throughout. Which one did I choose?

The 2nd one:
Saarinen Tulip Table

And boy am I glad I did! The veining looks great (this picture is in my temporary abode, not our house) and I think it will work really well in our bonus room makeover. It will add some life to the clean lines in that room. Which one would you have chosen? UPDATE: I forgot to include the link to the wonderful store that had these for us. You can check out Also Modern on facebook or Etsy.

The second item we picked up recently was an amazing gold table lamp. It has a different style than one might typically think of with us, but the shape is absolutely fantastic and the color fits right in with our post about brass and gold-toned metals in home decor. Both the shape and the color will add a certain warmth to any modern space that may otherwise be made up of clean lines and often grey, neutral wall colors in our house. Here is a picture of it in its temporary location which happens to be on top of our brand new Saarinen table out of town with me. It will eventually make its way to our house in one of 3 possible rooms: (please excuse the poor lighting and bad camera phone picture)

Saarinen Tulip Table

It was an absolute steal for the price we paid. Most likely looked over because it was “gold” and many considered it to be dated. I have no idea where it came from, whether it is vintage or new, or whether it was expensive or cheap originally. I do however know that it oozes style and unique character for a side lamp and was well worth the $20 we spent.

These two items were bought within a couple days of each other. Rarely do we get that lucky finding quality items so quickly but of course we love the few times that happens!

So, do you love the lamp like we do? Or do we just have an obsession with quirky, retro objects?

4 responses to “April Thrifting | Part 2 of 2

  1. Pingback: Brass & Gold | Warm Metals Heating Up in Home Decor | The Color & Shape·

  2. Jamie, so glad you love the Saarinen tulip table you purchased from us. We keep adding to our inventory. Find our shop ‘Also Modern’ on Facebook as well as Etsy. Best – Sallie

    • yes! So sorry, I totally should link to your site. I will update my post to include the link. A lot of my posts are stream-of-consciousness and I just forgot to mention that originally. We love the table and can’t wait to see it in the finished space sometime this year!

  3. Thank you, I have just been searching for info approximately this topic for a while and yours is the best I’ve found out till now. But, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you positive concerning the supply?|What i do not understood is in fact how you are no longer really much more well-liked than you may be now. You are so intelligent.

Leave a Reply

